The USC Libraries announced the nominees for the 29th USC Scripter Award, which is a rare writing award that goes to both the screenwriter and the writer of the material the film or TV show is based on. It can also be an indicator of potential Best Adapted Screenplay nominees.

READ MORE: The 25 Best Films Of 2016

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at USC on Feb. 11.


Screenwriter Eric Heisserer, adapted from the novella “Story Of Your Life” by Ted Chiang

August Wilson for the play (Plume) and screenplay

“Hidden Figures”
Screenwriters Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi, based on the nonfiction book by Margot Lee Shetterly

Luke Davies for the screenplay adapted from the nonfiction book “A Long Way Home” by Saroo Brierley

Barry Jenkins, adapted from “In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue,” by Tarell Alvin McCraney


“Game Of Thrones”
Screenwriters David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, for the episode “The Winds Of Winter,” adapted from the fantasy series “A Song Of Ice And Fire” by George R. R. Martin.

“The Man In The High Castle”
Frank Spotnitz, Erik Oleson, and Joe Kawasaki for the episode “Fallout,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick.

“The Night Manager”
David Farr for the miniseries based on the espionage novel by John Le Carré.

“Orange Is The New Black”
Tara Herrmann and Jenji Kohan for the episode “Toast Can’t Never Be Bread Again,” adapted from the memoir by Piper Kerman, “Orange Is The New Black: My Year In A Women’s Prison.”

“The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski for the episode “Manna From Heaven,” based on the nonfiction book “The Run Of His Life: The People v. O.J. Simpson” by Jeffrey Toobin.