We’re less than two weeks away from the Academy of Motion Arts and Sciences announcing a slew of shortlisted categories, but today a slimmed down number of Visual Effects contenders were revealed with some mild surprises. Big hits such as “Avengers: Endgame,” “Captain Marvel,” “Fast and Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw” and “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” made the cut as expected. More artistic visual effects endeavors such as “The Aeronauts,” “The Irishman,” “1917” and “Ford v Ferrari” also were included. Potential players such as “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood,” “Rocketman,” “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil,” “It Chapter Two,” “Shazam!” and “Godzilla: King of the Monsters” were not recognized.

READ MORE: “Avengers: Endgame” VFX breakdown reveals Thicc Thor is very, very real

The twenty films who have qualified for the next round are:

“Ad Astra”
“The Aeronauts”
“Alita: Battle Angel”
“Avengers: Endgame”
“Captain Marvel”
“Fast and Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw”
“Ford v Ferrari”
“Gemini Man”
“The Irishman”
“Jumanji: The Next Level”
“The Lion King”
“Men in Black: International”
“Spider-Man: Far from Home”
“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”
“Terminator: Dark Fate”

AMPAS’ Visual Effects Branch Executive Committee determined the preliminary list of films eligible for further awards consideration. Later this month, the committee will select a shortlist of 10 films that will advance to nominations voting. That shorlist, along with other for categoris such as International Film, Makeup and Hairstyling and Original Score will be announced on December 16.