Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter & Sheryl Lee Ralph Will Host 2022 TCA Awards

Emmy nomination voting may end today, but Emmy season is still going strong. The nominations will be announced on June 12th and the winners of the influential TCA Awards will be revealed on August 6th. This morning, the Television Critics Association revealed that three popular “Abbott Elementary” stars, Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, and the legendary Sheryl Lee Ralph will host the ceremony.

READ MORE: “Abbott Elementary” leads all programs with five 2022 TCA Awards nominations

“Abbott Elementary” scored five nominations including Program of the Year, Outstanding New Program, Outstanding Achievement in Comedy, and two Individual Achievement in Comedy nods for James and series creator and star, Quinta Brunson. The hit ABC comedy will face off against “Better Call Saul,” “Severance,” and “Yellowjackets,” which earned four nods each, in the Program of the Year category.

James, Walter, and Ralph will open the night’s festivities before handing the reins over to the critics who will announce the event’s winners. Previous hosts include Desus & Mero, Robin Thede, Kristin Chenoweth, Jaime Camil, James Corden, Terry Crews, Bryan Cranston, Ellen DeGeneres, Conan O’Brien, Drew Carey, Craig Ferguson, Wanda Sykes, the Smothers Brothers, Nick Offerman, Key & Peele, and Bob Newhart.

In a statement, Melanie McFarland, TCA President and TV Critic for Salon noted, “We are ecstatic to finally be able to gather in person again for this year’s TCA Awards, and we’re going all out with not one, but three talented hosts for the occasion. Through ‘Abbott Elementary,’ ABC has revitalized the concept of the must-see network comedy, reminding us of the hope shows like this provide in challenging times. With these multitalented co-stars Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, and the eternally captivating Sheryl Lee Ralph, we expect the TCA Awards on August 6 to be in a class by itself.”

The event will take place at the Langham Huntington, Pasadena, on Saturday, August 6.